Sigma Theta Tau-Pi Omega NMSU Chapter


Sigma Theta Tau is a professional nursing honor society. Pi Omega is the local chapter affiliated with New Mexico State University. The purpose of the local chapter is to advance the nursing profession in areas of community involvement, education, and current evidence-based practice. Local chapter membership consists of alumni. students, faculty, and local community leaders.


The mission of the honor society is to provide leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research to enhance the health of all people. we support the learning and professional development of our members, who strive to improve nursing care worldwide.

The Purpose of the Society shall be to:

  • Recognize superior achievement
  • Recognize the development of leadership qualities
  • Foster high professional standards
  • Encourage creative work
  • Strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession

Important Dates: 

  • Board Meetings on first Tuesday of every Month at 7 pm on zoom webinar
  • Rush Date: January 30, 2020 (Thursday)
  • Annual Meeting: March 3, 2020 (Tuesday)
  • Induction Date: May 14, 2020 (Thursday)

Current Chapter Leaders:



Electronic Delegate 1

Susan Harrell

Electronic Delegate 2

Sonda Boulware

Convention Delegate 1 and 2

Anita Reinhardt
Sonda Boulware

Governance Chair

Lori Saiki

Leadership Succession
Committee Member 1

Jennifer Tupper

Leadership Succession
Committee Member 2

Stephanie Lynch

Governance Committee
Member 1

Ruth Burkhart

Governance Committee
Member 2

Stephanie Lynch


Conni DeBlieck

Vice President/President Elect

Kelly Clark


Melissa Livingston


Anita Reinhardt


Claudia Ruiz


Membership Information

Professional nurses in the community are eligible for membership and encouraged to apply. If interested, please complete the intent form (side menu) and have 2 members of STTI complete the 2 required endorsement forms. Many faculty members have a sign outside their doors indicating they are members. Most NMSU School of Nursing faculty are STTI members. Email completed forms to Dr. Linda Summers or Dr. Conni DeBlieck. Also, you can visit us on Facebook for upcoming chapter events and for more information.

All 2nd degree seeking students must meet in person or by phone with an advisor in the School of Nursing to review eligibility and obtain the BSN application.

Graduate Students: Each graduate (master’s or doctoral) candidate for membership is required to meet the criteria for the graduate category of membership. Graduate students are required to have completed 1/4 of the required graduate curriculum, and achieved a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 grading scale or its equivalent, and meet the expectation of academic integrity.

Undergraduate Students: Student candidates shall have demonstrated superior academic achievement, academic integrity, and professional leadership potential. Students must be enrolled in a basic program defined as a baccalaureate or equivalent nursing degree program which leads to the professional nursing degree. Basic students who are elected shall not rank lower than the highest 35% of their class in scholarship. Students shall have completed at least 1/2 of the required nursing curriculum.

Community Nurse Leader: A nurse leader, who is a registered nurse, legally recognized to practice in his/her country with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, and who has demonstrated achievement in nursing, shall be eligible for membership.

Sigma Theta Tau Forms

STTI Membership Intent Form

STTI Endorsement for membership Form